2014: What a long, strange trip...

Flickr/Trey Ratcliff

After spending 2007 to 2013 in school, 2014 gave me a bit of concentrated time for writing. I would have liked to have written more, but I was very happy to have the opportunity to have posts published with the Harvard Business Review, Sustainable Brands and CSRwire. I also spun up a column with Global CEO a couple of months ago, and I intend that to be my home away from home as long as they'll have me. On balance, I'm pretty happy with the year, and I promise to do my best to raise the bar in 2015.

But enough of that, let's get on with the year in review!

1. Unleash the Radical Intrapreneurs!

My favorite post of the year asks corporate leaders to create the headroom for their passionate, purpose-filled people to drive needed change.

Flickr/Chris Devers | Artwork/Banksy

This follow-up to the earlier post asked readers to consider whether their employers valued their efforts, and offered suggestions for "de-commoditizing" themselves.

Flickr/Argonne National Laboratory

It was quite an honor to get my first post up on the Harvard Business Review site. This one took a look at the ever-changing regulatory landscape and suggested an eye towards a holistic approach, when appropriate.

Flickr/Marco De Stabile

My inaugural post with Global CEO suggested a re-framing of the role that CSR plays in corporations, asking that we make them into ombudsmen who do the work, but also act as intermediaries between their firms and external interests on related concerns.

My first post for Sustainable Brands was a call for less talking and more doing in 2014. I hope it helped...

This post was largely definitional, but it was an important launching point for those that followed. If you're not familiar with the topic of radical intrapreneurs, this is a great starting point.

Flickr/redjar

I happened to start reading David Quammen's "Spillover" right around the time that the Ebola epidemic started hitting the news. I asked the reader to the consider the value of "overreacting" to certain sets of circumstances here.