Celebrating International Women's Day 2011

In honor of International Women's Day, I thought I would share a list of a few of my favorite journalists from the CSR / Sustainability arena. I've learned quite a bit from each of them and I'm sure you could too. Here they are, in no particular order:

Founder of the Acumen Fund, author of "The Blue Sweater," and champion of the concept of patient capital. Check out her Ted talk on the topic:

[ted id=157]

Majora started a firm whose vision states, "No one should have to move out of their neighborhood to live in a better one, and this notion's environmental and economic implications span the globe."

Here's a quick video from the Science Channel in which Majora discusses her work:

[vimeo http://vimeo.com/11137026]

And her Ted Talk on Greening the Ghetto

[ted id=53]

  • Aman Singh

Aman writes the Vault.com CSR blog, "In Good Company." Her articles continuously push for better understanding and advancement of the field, while giving time to thought leaders from both sides of issues. No video here, but I highly recommend adding her blog to your list of favorites. Her latest article, "20 Career Paths Dominated by Women Today," discusses professional roles where women now outnumber men.

  • Michelle Obama

The First Lady can count me as a fan for her work to help improve the nation's eating habits. I loved it when she started the organic garden on the White House grounds and her more recent work to help improve the nutritional content of the food on supermarket shelves stands to make an even bigger impact. If First Lady's had to run for election, it would be a landslide in her favor.

  • Eileen O.

When I said that this was in no particular order, I was stretching the truth a bit as I intentionally saved the best for last. It would be a travesty if I wrote an article honoring great women and left out my darling bride. My wife has been an inspiration to me since we met. She always puts others before herself and is an incredible mother. I have learned a lot from her and feel very fortunate to have her in my life. She is truly special.

That's the short list, but there are so many others out there worthy of praise and adulation. Please be sure to tell the women in your life how important they are, and while you're at it, why not ask what they could use some help with!