Lunch on a Budget

Having coffee at the end of a bike ride this afternoon, I overheard the following exchange between an older gentlemen and a cashier:

McChicken and a McDouble today sir?

No. Just the McDouble today.

$1 and 8 cents, sir.

I can't claim to know the motivations of the customer (Maybe this is the food he prefers and money doesn't play into the decision.) but my intuition screams that I just witnessed a microcosm of the growing poverty in America. So I have to ask, are these the kinds of choices you want to make in the future? And, are you okay with people being forced to live this way? The train is on the wrong track and those in position to change direction are instead throwing more fuel on the fire. It's time to reassess what's important and start demanding better. We need to get after it now, before it's to late.

The clock is ticking.