Thailand is Drowning in Waste! - Part 1: The Challenge

I participated in an interesting summit of academics and government officials towards the end of the summer. The event, "Revitalizing Rural Development for Poverty Eradication in Asia," featured three tracks of discussions about (1) natural resources and the environment, (2) rights and democratization, & (3) livelihood and wellbeing. I joined the track around natural resources and the environment and I gave a short talk in a plenary session on what I see as the growing challenges and opportunities around waste in Thailand and beyond.

Below is a short video from my talk which highlights some of Thailand's challenges around the country's waste of resources. I'll post Part 2, which will look at related opportunities, in the next week or so.

[embed]https://d3t8qqvnss56ee.cloudfront.net/2017/10/06/oQrIxUe0q4-original-1080p-kabWqBGt.mp4[/embed]