• Dystopian Present
  • Posts
  • That's Obviously a 10-lined June Beetle, You Dolt! (My 5 Rules for Co-creation)

That's Obviously a 10-lined June Beetle, You Dolt! (My 5 Rules for Co-creation)

I posted a pic via Instagram of an interesting insect I found on my porch earlier today.

https://twitter.com/costrike/status/229597133911781376

The 10-lined June Beetle

Scott Olson (@NJHighlands) passed the post along about an hour later.

https://twitter.com/NJHighlands/status/229608680985858048

Debbie Hadley (@aboutinsects) quickly replied.

https://twitter.com/AboutInsects/status/229610624387268608

So, in about an hour, I had the answer to a question I might have spent hours researching with no guarantee of finding the answer. Pretty awesome. So what, you ask? Well, I think this is a great example of the collaborative power available through our increasingly connected world. That said, I think we need a few rules for co-creating.

My 5 Rules for Co-Creation

  1. No free lunches - Come to the table prepared to give more than you take. Share your knowledge freely and you'll build respect within your communities. Those who consistently take more than they give will soon find themselves run out-of-town.

  2. Deep appreciation is not optional - If someone helps you, thank them and try to find ways to return the favor. You'll feel good about doing the right thing, which will reinforce that positive behavior. I find this helps me get my thoughts, words and actions in integrity. (a key to building trust.)

  3. Share credit lavishly - Praise those who helped you build something. They'll likely do the same, but if they don't, it will come back to haunt them...

  4. Create for a better world - Society needs a helping hand on innumerable fronts these days. Find the issue(s) that rev your engine and get to work.

  5. Seek to expand your influence - As your knowledge set and networks expand, find ways to leverage small successes to go after larger ones.

Final Note

The title was a bit of my usual silliness which was intended to highlight the ease with which a seemingly difficult question can be quickly answered if it's posed to the right person or group of people. In no way was I suggesting that the person who answered the question was anything but gracious, nor was I suggesting that I was not appreciative of the help. (Refer back to rule #2.)

How are you going to use the power of the internet to help co-create a better world?